Blog Feed

Being Dianne – Qarnita Loxton’s latest novel – to be released in September

Dianne is divorced but for the sake of her two daughters she lives next to her exhusband, sharing a joint double garden. Good for the girls but what about her? How can she move on if Alan and his new fiancée are always around?

Her postdivorce romances have stalled: Andile, her lover turned friend, and Faye, her secret Tinder date turned sometimes lover. Both Andile and Faye want more but Di is not sure what she wants. Her daughters were not thrilled with the idea of her with a boyfriend, will they freak out if their mom has a girlfriend? Is it even worth introducing them if Faye might turn out not to be the one for her?

But when Dianne’s eldest daughter deals with homophobia at school, Dianne feels compelled to speak out and be honest about who she is. With the support of her friends Kari, Lily, Shelley and now Shireen, she might just have the courage to do it. But what will the fallout be?

To find out more and to read an excerpt see!

Qarnita Loxton’s story included in Die Meisie Met Uitroeptekens In Haar Oë En Ander Stories

Of jy nou glo in die noodlot of blote geluk of liefde met die eerste oogopslag, alle liefdesverhoudings moet iewers begin. Dié bundel bevat verhale oor eerste ontmoetings deur gevestigde skrywers soos Jaco Jacobs, Zelda Bezuidenhout, Refiloe Moahloli, Qarnita Loxton en Sally Partridge en nuwe stemme soos Cliffordene Norton en Mercy Kannemeyer.

Die verhale is soms romanties, soms snaaks, soms alledaags, soms buitengewoon … en die eindes meestal gelukkig. Die bundel is ryk aan diversiteit en bied ’n verskeidenheid wat betref identiteit, karakters en agtergronde.

Published by Pan Macmillan South Africa Children’s Books in July 2021.

Qarnita Loxton: Winner of the Philida Literary Award in 2021

Today, on the sixth anniversary of André Brink’s death, we pay tribute to his life and work and announce that the Philida Literary Award, established in his memory in 2020, goes to Qarnita Loxton and is awarded to her for an oeuvre of literary excellence.

Qarnita Loxton by Retha Ferguson

Qarnita Loxton was born and lives in Cape Town. She has practised as an attorney in the financial services industry. Her first novel, Being Kari (Kwela, 2017), was longlisted for the 2018 9mobile Prize for Literature and shortlisted for the 2018 Charles Bosman Prize. Being Lily (Kwela) followed in 2018, and Being Shelley (Kwela), the third book in the series, a year later.

Qarnita Loxton on accepting the Philida Literary Award: “You have brought the very best news! Thank you and the judges so much for considering me, I am beyond thrilled. It will be my absolute pleasure and honour to accept the Philida Literary Award for 2021.”

2017 Being Kari

2018 Being Lily

2019 Being Shelley

‘Funny and poignant, with characters so believable I feel I know them.’

– Pamela Power about Being Lily

‘I loved crazy, funny Shelley even when I wanted to strangle her.’

– Dudu Busani-Dube about Being Shelley

The 2021 Philida Literary Award judges were Desiree-Anne Martin, Helen Moffett, Joanne Hichens, Karina M. Szczurek and Sara-Jayne Makwala King.