LOLWE CLASSES: Experimental and Genre-bending Writing Masterclass with Mohale Mashigo | 30 April

“To break conventional forms with purpose, to create a work that resists categorisation while retaining its coherence, is one of the most tasking things in the literary world. Experimental and genre-bending writing is full of risks. In this masterclass, the author of the award-winning novel The Yearning will provide you with the literary devices necessary to experiment meaningfully with prose. The masterclass will cover how to break past the boundary of conventional writing forms, create works that defy easy genre classification, and circumvent hurdles that writing rules pose.”

Scholarships are available for this masterclass. For details, please see: LOLWE CLASSES

Fentse Mokale reviews INTRUDERS by Mohale Mashigo

IG: @fentsefents

There are weird things going on in here.

And I’m here for all of them!

What do you get when you cross an alien ship, a woman whose eye has been gorged out without her knowledge and another with wings – who has killed a man at the taxi rank, using her shoe?

You get Intruders, by Mohale Mashigo – that’s what you get!

This book is a blend of numerous creative short stories – the kinds that fuse reality with things that exist in other realms. It’s the things of nightmares and colourful imaginations. Just my kind of read …

Continue reading: @fentsefents

Mohale Mashigo: Winner of the inaugural Philida Literary Award in 2020

Today, on the fifth anniversary of André Brink’s death, we pay tribute to his life and work and announce that the first Philida Literary Award, established in his memory, goes to Mohale Mashigo and is awarded to her for an oeuvre of literary excellence.

Mohale Mashigo by Victor Dlamini

Novelist, writer, singer, songwriter, Mohale Mashigo, was born Kgomotso Carol Mashigo in Mapetla, Soweto, in 1983. She is also known by her stage name ‘Black Porcelain’. Her debut novel The Yearning (Picador Africa, 2016) won the 2016 University of Johannesburg Prize for South African Debut Writing and has been longlisted for the International Dublin Literary Award 2018. Mohale is also the author of Scared Tumi, Beyond the River, Intruders and Where Is Lulu?. Together with Loyiso Mkize and Clyde Beech, she collaborates on Kwezi, the local bestselling superhero comic. She lives in Cape Town.

Mohale Mashigo on accepting the inaugural Philida Literary Award: “It is an incredible honour. Philida is one of my favourite novels of all time.”

2016 The Yearning

2016 Scared Tumi

2017 Beyond the River

2018 Intruders

2019 Where Is Lulu?

‘Mohale Mashigo tells her story with charming lucidity, disarming characterisation, subversive wisdom and subtle humour.’

– Zakes Mda about The Yearning

The 2020 Philida Literary Award judges were Desiree-Anne Martin, Helen Moffett, Joanne Hichens, Karina M. Szczurek and Sara-Jayne Makwala King.