Today, on the sixth anniversary of André Brink’s death, we pay tribute to his life and work and announce that the Philida Literary Award, established in his memory in 2020, goes to Qarnita Loxton and is awarded to her for an oeuvre of literary excellence.

Qarnita Loxton by Retha Ferguson

Qarnita Loxton was born and lives in Cape Town. She has practised as an attorney in the financial services industry. Her first novel, Being Kari (Kwela, 2017), was longlisted for the 2018 9mobile Prize for Literature and shortlisted for the 2018 Charles Bosman Prize. Being Lily (Kwela) followed in 2018, and Being Shelley (Kwela), the third book in the series, a year later.

Qarnita Loxton on accepting the Philida Literary Award: “You have brought the very best news! Thank you and the judges so much for considering me, I am beyond thrilled. It will be my absolute pleasure and honour to accept the Philida Literary Award for 2021.”

2017 Being Kari

2018 Being Lily

2019 Being Shelley

‘Funny and poignant, with characters so believable I feel I know them.’

– Pamela Power about Being Lily

‘I loved crazy, funny Shelley even when I wanted to strangle her.’

– Dudu Busani-Dube about Being Shelley

The 2021 Philida Literary Award judges were Desiree-Anne Martin, Helen Moffett, Joanne Hichens, Karina M. Szczurek and Sara-Jayne Makwala King.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s